Chapter V Sloka 13

svRkmaRi[ mnsa s<NySyaSte suo< vzI, 
nvÖare pure dehI nEv k…vRÚ karyn!.

sarvakarm˜õi manas˜ 
sannyasy˜ste sukhaÕ vaþŸ | 
navadv˜re pure dehŸ 
naiva kurvanna k˜rayan ( 5|13)||

Mentally renouncing all actions and self-controlled, the embodied one rests happily in the nine-gated city, neither acting nor causing others (body and senses) to act.


All actions:-
Nitya Karmas: These are obligatory duties. Their performance does not produce any merit; but their non-performance produces demerit. Sandhyavandana, etc., belong to this category.
Naimittika Karmas: These Karmas are performed on the occurrence of some special events such as the birth of a son, eclipse, etc.
Kamya Karmas: These are optional. They are intended for the attainment of some special ends (for getting rain, son, etc.)
Nishiddha Karmas: These are forbidden actions such as theft, drinking liquor, etc.
Prayaschitta Karmas: Actions performed to neutralise the effects of evil actions or sins.

The man who has controlled the senses renounces all actions by discrimination, by seeing inaction in action and rests happily in this body of nine openings (the nine-gated city), because he is free from cares, worries, anxieties and fear and his mind is quite calm and he enjoys the supreme peace of the Eternal.  In this nine-gated city, the Self is the king. The senses, the mind, the subconscious mind, and the intellect are the inhabitants or subjects.

The ignorant worldly man says, 'I am resting in the easy-chair.' The man of wisdom who has realised that the Self is distinct from the body which is a product of the five elements, says, 'I am resting in this body.' ( Cf. XVIII. 17, 50)